Mission

Help creators to create.

Simply.

heather-full-zip-hoodie-mockup-featuring-a-young-woman-41131-r-el2.png

Vision

Inspire and help entrepreneurs to create the products of their dreams thanks to collections of illustrations and original surface patterns, also thanks to informative and / or inspiring documents.

Values

Create

Share

Be Positive

Be Human

305 kids 1_View010003.jpg

My cause

I really believe that by helping women, especially women entrepreneurs, we can help an entire village. That's why, every month, I invest 10% of my business income in micro-loans to women around the world who want to start or grow a business. To do this, I trust Kiva.org.

So far I have been able to make more than 150 micro-loans. As soon as the repayments come in, I reinvest them in new loans.

An easy way to make a little difference starting with    $25.

Visit Kiva.org


 

Have you ever felt like you were on your X?

It is this happiness that I experience every day at work since I discovered surface pattern design. 

I spent the first part of my professional life surrounded by books. The management of a school library to start, then book publishing.  I have always been interested in entrepreneurship. But life sometimes forces us to question everything. When my family had to move more than 4000 km away, I closed the publishing house.

I now had a lot more free time, so I took up painting lessons that I had abandoned 25 years earlier. Art, like books and entrepreneurship, has always been more or less part of my life. So I started painting, getting involved in a group of artists until working in a gallery in Western Canada, then in California. Then we had to move again. Barely settled in our new city, the pandemic hit. The heart was not in the paint.

So I took all the time I had to learn the basics of computer graphics and…I discovered surface pattern design. I fell in love. I spent a year taking classes, experimenting with loads of designs, learning as much as I could, creating multiple collections. 

I had found something that reconciled my love of art, organization and entrepreneurship. A world opened up before me. Everyone. There are so many possibilities with surface pattern design that it is very easy to get lost.

I needed a plan. I had to organize myself. And what does a librarian do when she needs information and organization? She looks for books to answer her questions, notebooks to get organized.

I didn't find much. So, as a good ex-publishor that I am, I created (and continue to do so) the tools I needed to feel in control, to make the right decisions for myself. I then decided to share it with my peers.

Then a last, and recent, move finally brought me home to Montreal. Since then, I feel on my X. Totally. What I do as a surface pattern designer is to combine my love of art and entrepreneurship. Then, creating my notebooks and downloadable tools fulfills my love for books and organization. I can now reconcile all the facets of my work in a single entity that looks like me and that I can put at the service of others.

What I love about publishing is the feeling of participating in the development of others, of my peers. The feeling of sharing what I know and also learning every day. 

What I particularly like in Art is the freedom. The freedom to create imperfect images like life, the freedom to choose colors according to the emotion of the moment, the freedom to express without words.

What I like about entrepreneurship is also the freedom. The freedom to choose my projects, to change my path, to be in control. I hope I can help you be in control of your business too.

Manon Jodoin

Mission

Aider les créateurs à créer.

Tout simplement.

heather-full-zip-hoodie-mockup-featuring-a-young-woman-41131-r-el2.png

Vision

Inspirer et aider les entrepreneurs à créer les produits de leur rêve grâce à des collections d’illustrations et de motifs de surface originaux et signifiants, grâce aussi à des documents informatifs et/ou inspirants.

Valeurs

Créativité

Partage

Positivité

Humanisme

305 kids 1_View010003.jpg

Ma cause

Je crois beaucoup qu'en aidant les femmes, particulièrement les femmes entrepreneures, on peut aider tout un village. C'est pourquoi, chaque mois, j'investis10% de mes revenus d'entreprise dans des micro-prêts à femmes de partout dans le monde qui désirent fonder ou faire fructifier une entreprise. Pour ce faire, je fais confiance à Kiva.org.

Jusqu'ici j'ai pu faire plus de 150 micro-prêts. Dès que les remboursements arrivent, je les réinvestis dans de nouveaux prêts.

Une façon simple de faire une petite différence en commençant avec 25$.

Visitez Kiva.org

 

Avez-vous déjà eu l'impression d'être sur votre X?

C’est ce bonheur que je vis chaque jour au travail depuis que j’ai découvert le design de motif de surface. 

J’ai passé la première partie de ma vie professionnelle au milieu des livres. La gestion d’une bibliothèque scolaire pour débuter, puis l’édition de livres. J'ai toujours aussi été intéressée par l'entreprenariat. Mais la vie nous force parfois à tout remettre en question. Lorsque ma famille a dû déménager à plus de 4000 km, j’ai fermé la maison d’édition.

J’avais désormais beaucoup plus de temps libre, j’ai donc repris des cours de peinture abandonnés 25 ans plus tôt. L’art, comme les livres et l’entreprenariat, a toujours fait plus ou moins partie de ma vie. Je me suis donc mise à peindre, à m’impliquer dans un groupe d’artistes jusqu’à travailler dans une galerie de l’ouest canadien, puis en Californie. Puis, il fallait déménager à nouveau. À peine installée dans notre nouvelle ville, la pandémie a frappé. Le coeur n’était pas à la peinture.

J’ai donc pris tout ce temps dont je disposais pour apprendre les rudiments du graphisme à l’ordinateur et… j’ai découvert le design de motif de surface. Je suis tombée amoureuse. J’ai passé un an à suivre des cours, à expérimenter avec une foule de designs, à apprendre le plus que je pouvais, à créer de multiples collections. 

J’avais trouvé quelque chose qui réconciliait mon amour de l’art, de l'organisation et de l’entreprenariat. Un monde s’ouvrait devant moi. Tout un monde. Il y a tant de possibilités avec le design de motif de surface qu’il est très facile de s’y perdre.

Il me fallait un plan. Il fallait m’organiser. Et que fait une bibliothécaire quand elle a besoin d’information et d’organisation? Elle cherche des livres pour répondre à ses questions, des cahiers pour s’organiser.

Je n’ai pas trouvé grand chose. Alors, comme bonne ancienne éditrice que je suis, j’ai créé (et continue de le faire) les outils dont j’avais besoin pour me sentir en contrôle, pour prendre les bonnes décisions pour moi-même. J’ai ensuite décidé d’en faire profiter mes pairs.

Puis un dernier, et tout récent, déménagement me ramenait enfin chez moi à Montréal. Depuis, je me sens sur mon X. Totalement. Ce que je fais comme designer de motif de surface, c’est combiner mon amour de l’art et de l’entreprenariat. Puis, la création de mes cahiers et outils téléchargeables comble mon amour pour les livres et l’organisation. Je peux maintenant réconcilier toutes les facettes de mon travail dans une seule entité qui me ressemble et que je peux mettre au service des autres.

Ce que j’aime dans l’édition, c’est le sentiment de participer au développement des autres, de mes pairs. Le sentiment de partager ce que je sais et d’apprendre aussi tous les jours. 

Ce que j’aime particulièrement dans l’Art, c’est la liberté.  La liberté de créer des images imparfaites comme la vie, la liberté de choisir des couleurs selon l’émotion du moment, la liberté d’exprimer sans mots.

Ce que j'aime dans l'entreprenariat, c'est aussi la liberté. La liberté de choisir mes projets, de modifier mon parcours, d'être en contrôle. J'espère que je pourrai vous aider à être en contrôle de votre entreprise vous aussi.